Remove this ad

FeverPitch

Lead

Aug 30 14 5:46 PM

Tags : :

=10ptAre there any basic kits to build your own antenna?  It seems like it would be an interesting project to do, although I admit it’s a little intimidating too.
Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

Gloria

#1 [url]

Aug 31 14 8:35 AM

Yes, I've seen some antenna tuner kits online. Prices seem to vary a lot, so I guess you'd better look at reviews before you buy anything so you don't end up overpaying and/or with a piece of junk.

Quote    Reply   

FeverPitch

#2 [url]

Aug 31 14 10:34 AM

Yes, I'm worried about overpaying for low quality. Also I've never tried to build anything like this before so I need a fairly simple kit as opposed to one that has me do almost everything from scratch.

Quote    Reply   

w8eeo

#3 [url]

Sep 2 14 12:22 AM

Google is a ham's best friend!

I am sure everyone knows that there is a wealth of information on-line about almost any subject. I googled "ham antenna kits that work well" and got 625, 000 hits. Since computers have been around I have always had one is the ham shack. Before I buy anything or pursue any "brain storm"  that I have at the moment I always see what the rest of the world thinks about my plans. You can get "pros & cons" about nearly every subject.

Quote    Reply   

FeverPitch

#4 [url]

Sep 2 14 12:58 PM

Yes, going online is a great resource. I like to talk to other people about their experiences with products when I can, so I often ask about stuff on forums as well as Googling.

Quote    Reply   

Rachel

#5 [url]

Sep 8 14 3:04 PM

I've never used one myself, but I have seen them online. I would recommend doing your research and reading reviews first.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad

HamBuff

#6 [url]

Jan 28 16 5:03 PM

If you’re interested in a reading product review about a particular item, it’s best to search for a product review website. Normally a company won’t post a negative review on their website.